Sony Style Warning needs a Warning?

digg this!| | Comments (0) | TrackBacks (0)

Within the past month or so, I received a warning from Sony about fraudulent e-mails claiming to be from Sony but that actually were not. The deceptive e-mails were designed to lure Sony customers into divulging personal information at a fake Sony site. It "falsely indicates that it is from SonyStyle.com" and "includes a link to a bogus SonyStyle.com registration site"

So, I was shocked to notice that the e-mail from Sony that was supposedly warning about deceptive e-mails and URLs was itself guilty of using apparently deceptive or "fraudulent" URLs!

Within the text, it contained a couple of URLs that, in the HTML version of the e-mail, deceptively show up as www.sonystyle.com, but in fact pointed to some other site at m0.net. Here is one of the deceptive URLs from Sony:

http://news.sonystyle.m0.net/m/S.asp?HB9483736521X2571692X218821X

Not to mention that the From address of the e-mail was also from the same site: sonystyle@news.sonystyle.m0.net

Should you trust the warning e-mail? Sure. The contents are benign enough. Just think twice about clicking those links or replying to the e-mail! Sony is surely using a company to send out the mass e-mailings and to track the "click-through" responses, but that seems like a pretty poor choice in this context!

0 TrackBacks

Listed below are links to blogs that reference this entry: Sony Style Warning needs a Warning?.

TrackBack URL for this entry: http://juxtaposition.axley.net/blog-bin/mt-tb.cgi/129

Leave a comment

March 2011

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    

«« December 2010

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    

Archives

Contact: Jason Axley

Search Amazon:

Amazon Logo
Powered by Movable Type 4.1